Academy Governing Body

All academies within the Trust are governed by the L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Board and Members. The L.E.A.D. Academy Trust governance structure establishes clear lines of accountability, overview and scrutiny at three levels: The L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Members; the L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Board and its Committees; and the Academy Governing Bodies (AGBs).

The AGB meets formally three times each year (termly) and also meets informally each term through engagement meetings. The Trusts scheme of delegation, AGB terms of reference and articles of association can be accessed by the clicking the following link These key documents set out the function and role of the AGB.

Please find below details about this academy’s AGB membership, including the names, categories, responsibilities, pecuniary interests and terms of appointment for each member.

NameGovernor CategoryHow AppointedDate AppointedTerm of OfficeBusiness Interests DeclaredGovernance Roles in other Educational InstitutionsAGB Attendance: Academic Year 2022-2023
Gina NewtonHeadteacherN/AN/AN/ANoneCommunity Governor at Birley Primary Academy0/3
Emma BramwellParent GovernorElected by Parents1 February 2017
Re-elected 30 March 2021
First term: 4 years
Second term: 4 years
Dawn McAugheyCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust1 February 20177 YearsNoneHeadteacher at Birley Primary Academy3/3
Susan BreezeCo-Opted GovernorElected by Trust21 March 2019 (Parent Governor),
30 March 2023 (Co-Opted Governor)
First term: 4 years
Second term:1 Year
James BeightonCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust20 November 2018
Re-elected 20 November 2022
4 YearsEmployee at L.E.A.D. Academy TrustNone1/3
Kay SmithCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust1 July 20204 YearsNoneNone2/3
Rachel HardyStaff Governor (Support)Elected by Staff17 December 20194 YearsNoneNone1/3
Lee CoddingtonStaff Governor (Teacher)Elected by staff15 November
Resigned 30 March 2023Sheffield Wednesday FC – Casual Talent ID ScoutN/AN/A
Maria ThomasCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust22 November 2022Resigned 12 Sept 2023n/an/an/a
Abi HancockCo-Opted GovernorAppointed by Trust30 March 20231 Yearn/an/a2/2

For any further information please contact the school office.

The Chair of the Governor can be contacted at:

Kay Smith,
Chair of Academy Governing Body,
The Birley Academy,
Birley Lane,
S12 3BP